Affordable Care Act Penalty Exemptions

There are nine (9) exemptions or penalty waivers for the Affordable Care Act / Obamacare.

  1. Short coverage gap
  2. Unaffordable coverage options
  3. Hardship
  4. No income tax filing requirement
  5. Religious conscience
  6. Health care sharing ministry
  7. Not lawfully present in the United States
  8. Incarceration
  9. Indian tribes

With the passing of the Affordable Care Act and it’s individual mandate, every legal residents of United States must have health insurance policy or qualify for an exemption (listed above) or pay the penalty payment.